Tennessee Press Online

Find A Paper
Associate Members
Download Ads
Member Services
Contact Us

Member Services
Find Members
*Access to publishers only.


Directory information for TPA member newspapers may be found under "Newspapers Online" or by calling to order your copy of the Tennessee Newspaper Directory today. ($45 cover price waived for members and clients.

2016 State Press Contests Awards presented July 21 in Franklin

Representing winning newspapers at the 2016 State Press Contests Awards Banquet, July 21 in Franklin, Tenn. Photo by Donn Jones, Donn Jones Photography

Master List of Winners by Category 2016
Excel File with list of winners, captions and contributors 2016
Press Release 2016                          
 Lists of winners in previous years

Photos from July 21, 2016 Photos of individual first place winners with Dr. Keith Carver, executive assistant to UT System President Dr. Joe DiPietro

UT, Tennessee Press Association Announce 2016 Newspaper Contest Winners

FRANKLIN, Tenn.—Newspaper writers, editors, designers and publishers won top awards in the Tennessee Press Association's 2016 newspaper contest, co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee.

The Chattanooga Times Free Press, the Jackson Sun, the Lebanon Democrat, the Standard Banner (Jefferson City) and the Portland Leader won the top general excellence awards at the association's dinner ceremony, held in Franklin. General excellence honors are based on total points accumulated for awards in five circulation categories.

Awards highlights:

This marks the seventh year in a row that the Jackson Sun has won the general excellence award and the third year in a row that the Chattanooga Times Free Press has won the award in its category.

The Chattanooga Times Free Press received 10 first-place awards in the category of newspapers with a combined weekly circulation of more than 200,000.

The Jackson Sun captured six first-place awards in the category of newspapers with a combined weekly circulation between 50,001 and 200,000.

As part of the annual contest, UT’s Edward J. Meeman Foundation honors newspapers with $250 awards in the categories of editorials, best single editorial and public service. The Commercial Appeal (Memphis) swept all three Meeman Awards for newspapers in its circulation group. The News-Herald (Lenoir City) won the top award for editorials and best single editorial in its circulation category.

The Meeman Foundation was established in 1968 at UT to fund the contests, provide professional critiques of journalists' work, and support journalism students and faculty.

The Mississippi Press Association judged a total of 1,360 entries from 73 of the association's 122 member newspapers. UT has co-sponsored the annual contest since 1940.

C O N T A C T :

Charles Primm (865-974-5180, charles.primm@tennessee.edu)
Robyn Gentile (865-584-5761, rgentile@tnpress.com)

University of Tennessee - Tennessee Press Association
Tennessee State Press Contests

General Excellence / Sweepstakes Award winners


Winners List 2016 PDF       Winners List 2016 Excel file with entry credits/judges' comments

Press Release 2016


Winners List 2015

Press Release 2015


Winners List 2014

Press Release 2014


Winners List 2013

Press Release 2013


Winners List 2012

Press Release 2012


Winners List & Press Release


Winners List    

Press Release



Winners List    

Press Release



Winners List    

Press Release



Winners List    

 2007 Awards with winning entry captions

Press Release



Winners List      

2006 Awards with winning entry captions
(high resolution PDF file 8.5 megabytes)

2006 Awards with winning entry captions
(low resolution PDF file 2.2 megabytes)

Press Release


Winners List

Press Release


Winners List

Press Release


Winners List


Winners List


Winners List


Winners List


Newspaper Advertising

Advertise Statewide

TPA is a primary media sponsor of the Governor's Books from Birth Foundation Imagination Library project.